top of page
der Junge auf dem Berg
Hey!

Ich bin Laura und ich schreibe über Bücher und alle möglichen andere Dinge. Viel Spaß beim durchstöbern.

More >
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon

Frankly in Love

Hey! Today I'm writing in English because my hopeless fangirl heart hopes that David Yoon maybe will read this one day and complaints about my bad grammar haha! I hope you'll still enjoy it even though you wanted to read it in german.

Review: Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Author: David Yoon

Release date: September 10th 2019

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 432

Price: 11.69$ (I paid 19€ because of shipping)

Language: English

Blurb:

High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo–his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents’ traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance–“Date Korean”–which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful–and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they’ll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it’s the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy’s fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love–or himself–at all.

My opinion:

First of all can we quickly appreciate this gorgeous cover? I mean look at it it's a masterpiece and a piece of art I just love it sooo much!

I saw that David Yoon will release his first book about a month before it came out. I immediately went on Amazon to read the blurb and knew right after I read it that I will buy this beautiful book. You need to know that I don't buy English books that often because I think it's difficult for me (graduated Highschool this year) to understand EVERYTHINK perfectly even though I got really good grades in my English SAT's. But I didn't hesitate to pre order that book because- I don't know- I just had a feeling that this will be a book I'm gonna understand perfectly and that feeling was completely right.

This story wasn't just a cute little love story. It was so much more. I got pushed into a world I never really imagined to exist. Frank Li was such a kind and heart melting character and I immediately fell in love with him. Everytime I thought the ending is so predictable the plot became completely different and the book didn't end as I expected. It was really easy to read which is the reason that this was the first English book I read in less than two days! And even though there wasn't that much happening in the first half, it never got bored and that's talent ladies and gentlemen.

David brought the topic racism perfectly in and sometimes I really related to it because I'm the second generation born in Austria (my grandparents were born in Croatia) and even in my family happened some things that also happened in Frank Li's family. It was fascinating to read that those things also happen in other countrys and other cultures. The book contained so many different kind of problems in the United States and all over the world and I really liked it how Yoon mentioned everything without trying too hard to change something by writing about it. I don't want to spoiler so I hope everybody who read the book understands what I mean. I really enjoyed reading "Frankly in Love" and if it will be translated in german I definetely will buy and reread it.

I'm rating Frankly in Love with 4,5/5 Stars

I really hope my English wasn't that bad and you hopefully understood most of it haha! I just think the more I'm writing in English the faster my vocabulary grows and my grammar improves. Thank you for reading! <3


bottom of page